My First Longies, The Beginning

Ever since I decided to cloth diaper my youngest child, (who’s first birthday is coming up next month!), I have longed for a pair of longies.

For those of you who are unitiated in the world of cloth diapers, “longies” is a term for a pair pants knitted in wool yarn and used as a diaper cover. Not only is wool 100% natural, but the unique properties of the fiber allow it not only to repel water, but also to absorb up to 30% of it’s weight in liquid without feeling wet! It does all this, plus it breathes, which means baby’s skin stays cool and dry.

Of course, the absolute cuteness factor involved in a pair of knitted bottoms is a plus, as well. 🙂

For several years I have tried to crotchet, but I am horrible at keeping guage. I end up with rows of tight stitches, followed by rows of loose stitches.  Knitting always seemed impossible to me. If I couldn’t do anything with yarn and one needle, how was I supposed to work with two needles?

Recently, in a second hand store, I came across knitting needles, yarn, and an instructional book on knitting. Of course, I grabbed them up. When I tried to teach myself using the book I realized the book had been printed in the fifties and assumes every woman has at least rudimentary knitting skills. Apparently the author did not realize what a dying art knitting would become! I had to run out and purchase a basic “teach yourself” kit from the local box store, and boy am I glad I did!!

Two needles are much better than one! I’ve already completed a hat for my husband (which I haven’t photographed yet) and I am now nearly half way through my coveted pair of longies!

I don’t have the correct size needles to make the pair I truly want to make, the AubreyDoodle pattern, which are knit in the round (circular or double pointed needles) and look  like this:

longies

So I am knitting another free pattern I found instead, the Tiny Bird Pattern, which is knit flat (two needles)  and looks like this:

flatlongie

Last night I stayed up until THREE in the morning knitting! (yeah, I am really loving this hobby, lol) Unfortunately, the picture I took of my work was before this knitting-spree, when I had just started. I am not using wool, but cotton, because wool is more expensive and I want to make a practice run before I use the higher-quality fabric. It sure is a pretty colorway, though. 🙂

knitinprogress

About Breezy Lane Photography

I am a photographer, wife, and mother of four children, two girls (12 and 1) and two boys (8 and 6). My husband and I live near Gaither, Arkansas in Boone County on an acre of land where we garden, raise chickens and rabbits, and learn about wild food. This blog's main purpose is showing off pictures and sharing information about my photography business, but I'll also share the going's on here on Breezy Lane. You may find me sharing info about making home made jelly from foraged berries, knitting a hat, making cloth diapers, frugal living, identifying wild food, gardening, or any number of varied topics.
This entry was posted in Cloth Diapers, Crafting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

